How To Remotely Wipe Out Dropbox Data From A Stolen Device

Yesterday Dropbox upgrades it’s Pro offering and bring most wanted remote wipe functionality. It let the users to erase the data from a stolen or lost device.

Both Dropbox Pro and Dropbox for business users can choose remote wipe feature to erase data from a stolen or lost device, only when that particular device comes online. After applying and remote wiping option the device will stop file synchronization immediately. The entire Dropbox folder also get deleted the next time the device comes online.

This functionality can be used by a Dropbox Pro user for wiping out his/her sensitive data in case of losing of device. In business use admin can delete account of a particular member using this feature or Dropbox folder from his device.

Remote Wipe The Dropbox Data

  • Sign into your Dropbox account, With your personal Dropbox account or using Dropbox for business account.
  • From the account menu select your name from top right corner.
  • Then click on the security tab.device selection in dropbox
  • Select the device from which you want to delete your Dropbox data.
  • Check on pop-up window that says ‘Delete files from this computer the next time it comes online’.delete dropbox data
  • Then click on unlink.

Delete A Member’s Account From A Team Using Remote Wipe

  • Sign in with your admin account for Dropbox.
  • Select Admin console from left.
  • Click the gear icon next to the name of member you want to delete.
  • Then click on delete user, a pop-up box will appear.delete dropbox account of a member
  • Choose account transfer, choose now or later.
  • Then click Yes for deleting files from that member’s device when his/device comes online.
  • Then click ‘Delete’.

Wiping Out Data From A Team Member’s Device

  • Sign in with your Dropbox admin account.
  • Select admin console from left sidebar.
  • Select the name of the member from the list whom you want to delete.
  • Select the device from which you want to delete data.
  • Check on ‘Delete files from this computer next time it comes online’.
  • Then click on unlink.
Show Your Love! Share it...
Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+1Pin on Pinterest0Share on LinkedIn0Share on StumbleUpon0
  • 25000

    hamza enn